Walt Disney World – Parks

Just a Christian Dad’s Review

of

Walt Disney World – Parks

We only visited 3 of the 4 major parks and we didn’t get a chance to visit Downtown Disney, thought it was on our list.

“Huh? But you said you went into the parks 4 times,” you may be asking.

You’re right.  We went into Epcot on the first day, Hollywood Studios on the second day and we saved Magic Kingdom for our last 2 days.

There is so much to do and Magic Kingdom is so big, I figured it was easier and smarter to break it up into 2 days.  Plus we had a dinning reservation for dinner at Cinderella’s castle on one day and Tony’s Restaurant for dinner on another day.

Those reviews will be posted later as well but I’ll go ahead and say that my favorite thing is how the chef’s at all the places we ate at go out of their way to help with dietary needs.  I have an intolerance to eggs, not a full allergy but I just can’t eat them without cramping and the chef’s all prepared special versions of the food I wanted if they contained eggs.

Moving on…

Epcot

Of all three parks, Epcot is my least favorite.

That’s not to say it’s bad to visit.  Your experience may prove different.  I just didn’t find much to do here that I enjoyed as much as the other two parks.

Here’s a list of what all we did:

  • Innoventions
  • Seas with Nemo & Friends
  • Soarin’
  • Living with the Land
  • Pavilion

We had dinner at the American pavilion, a quick service meal.  It was the same cheeseburger I had back at Port Orleans food court so I knew what to expect.  Not sure I remember what the other people with us had but I’m sure I would’ve asked them before posting the food review for that place later.

No we didn’t skip lunch while at Epcot.

When planning for the trip we actually booked a late breakfast at 1900 Park fare for the Marry Poppins Breakfast.  It was decent.  I’m not a very big breakfast fan so everyone else enjoyed more I’m sure.

My main like about this place was, again, the chef’s attitude but even more than that was all the characters my daughter got to meet and get autographs from.  That was well worth the visit.

Wow, I’m noticing a trend here where I mention a food place but fail to give a lengthy review of it.  I apologize for it too.

The last two parks will be on the next page followed by my overall likes, dislikes and score of the whole trip.

Overall I give Epcot: starstarstarhalfstarblankstar

Overall my daughter gives it a: starstarstarhalfstarblankstar

Hollywood Studios!

So my friends can’t believe that this is actually my personal favorite park.  It rocks!

Well, we got there around 9 or 10 a.m. just as the park was opening.  The Christmas tree out front was amazing.  Really good picture spot if you can get your child to sit still long enough.

It’s a little hard to judge the size of Hollywood Studios when you first come inside but it does feel smaller than both Epcot and Magic Kingdom.

The things we did here are:

  • Star Tours
  • Pizza Planet – Lunch
  • Lights, Camera, Action: Stunt Show
  • Toy Story Mania
  • Animation studio
  • Shopping
  • Fantasmic
  • 50’s Prime Time Cafe

Pizza Planet was every kids dream come true but it was just an average pizza place to me.

50’s Prime Time Cafe was probably my favorite of all the places we ate.  Our reservations had us eating as the park closed and after we were done, we had to leave the park.  They never rushed us with our food but once we left the restaurant  we had to get a move on to catch the bus.

Only other thing to mention is Fantasmic… it was in a word – Fantastic.

Haha, get it?  Anyway.

But yeah, it was my favorite park finale.  I enjoyed it more than Illuminations or Wishes.

We arrived at the stadium for the show about an hour or more before it started.  Perfect seats right in the middle and we were able to get rested and purchase refreshments before it got crowded.

Overall I give Hollywood Studios: starstarstarstarstar

Overall my daughter gives it a: starstarstarstarblankstar

Okay… now for the final park review.

Magic Kingdom

This park has got to be every kids favorite and probably even the majority of adults as well.

I even have to admit, it comes really close to beating Hollywood Studios as my favorite.

We had two days here so I’ll just tackle it with a Day 1 and Day 2 breakdown.

Day 1:

Got to park around noon – late due to swimming at the resort pool

  • Watched Mickey’s Make a Wish Show
  • Prince Charming’s Carousel
  • Mickey’s Philharmagic
  • Pictures at the Sword in the Stone – in front of the Carousel
  • Snack at Storybook Treats – ice cream was on the snack part of dinning plan.
  • Mad Hater’s Tea Cups
  • Shopped at Sir Mickey’s
  • Snack at Sleepy Hollow – Funnel cakes were on the snack part of dinning plan.
  • Cinderella’s Royal Table – Dinner
  • Main Street Electrical Parade
  • Meet Tinkerbell and Periwinkle in Adventure Land area

I may have left out some things and I’ll have to add them later.  Both days are kind’a blurring in my memory.  We didn’t skip lunch here, we ate at the Port Orleans food court because of the swimming back at the resort pool.

Day 2:

Got to the park around 10-11 – it was PACKED because it was now the first day of the peak season.

  • Pictures at the castle
  • Cosmic Rays Starlight Cafe – Lunch
  • Mickey’s Philharmagic
  • It’s a Small World
  • Magic Carpets of Aladdin
  • Pirates of the Caribbean
  • Tony’s Restaurant – Dinner
  • Meet the Princess’s beside Tony’s – It was Rapunzel, Aurora and Cinderella when we were there.
  • Sleepy Hollow
  • Main Street Electrical Parade
  • Wishes

We left right after wishes was over to beat the huge crowd.  I’m sure we would’ve stayed and tried to squeeze in another ride or two but we just couldn’t move it was so packed.

Overall I give Magic Kingdom: starstarstarstarhalfstar

Overall my daughter gives it a: starstarstarstarstar

Categories: Disney | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

